Welsh holding out for highest bidder


 

As we gathered up our stuff in the stand in Thomond Park last Saturday night, to head over to the post match press conference, a couple of Welsh and English colleagues asked which was the quickest way to get there.

“Sorry lads,” I said. “It’s for Irish journos only. Just those aligned to the Celtic brotherhood and signed up to the Accord.”

It was a joke. And en route to the other side of the ground we reminded our Welsh friend in particular how his lot would be quick to jump the fence – historically they have one leg over anyway -  if they thought the grass there was a nicer shade of green.

It kept us going until we arrived at the press room and the review of Munster’s win over Gloucester took over from the issue of where both teams would be playing their European rugby next season. If anywhere.

So when news broke last night of the Welsh regions declaring their love for the proposed Rugby Champions Cup it was, as they say in text land, an lol moment. Having been earmarked as the first to drop their drawers, the Welsh had assumed the position.

This was being interpreted first thing this morning as the final nail in the coffin of the Heineken Cup. Hmm, not so sure about that.

If there were gold medals on offer for preparing the battle-ground then PRL would be top of the podium. Just before ERC kicked off this season’s round of Heineken Cup regional launches PRL grandly produced the Rugby Champions Cup title, a daft handle but one that coloured in the picture of a new game in town.

Then, on the eve of today’s talks, they succeed in getting the Welsh to declare allegiance to something that as yet doesn’t exist, and has a broadcast deal that will be subject to legal challenge and whose detail has never been put on the table.

Meantime the backing track has featured chairmen from various Premiership clubs warning the Celts of the post Apocalyptic scene they will face if they don’t get on board.

This campaign has been so successful that what’s left of the Celtic alliance are bending over backwards to compromise and keep the show on the road. And does this alliance include the Welsh?

I think it probably does, in so far as their statement was worded carefully to leave the door open: they will run with whoever sets the right pace. And if that’s ERC, giving them more cash – they couldn’t give a toss about the structure etc – then fine.

What the Welsh want more than anything is the ability to budget with some confidence, to know that they might be involved with something that allows them turn a profit and keep their players in Wales. I’d say the eight Premiership clubs in England who lost money last season might settle for something similar.

The meeting in Dublin gets underway in a few hours and is scheduled to run through until tomorrow. Although I understand Stuart Gallacher, the Welsh regions rep, may be in town, I wonder will he skip the meeting to give his position some more clout. This is their demand to their own union, who they have been butting heads with over a new domestic accord, and ERC, to draw a new map with only prosperous countries. If that includes Wales in a revised and more profitable Heineken Cup then that’s what they’ll go for.

About Brendan Fanning

Brendan Fanning has been involved in rugby all of his life as a player, coach and journalist. He has been rugby correspondent on the Sunday Independent since 1996, and has been reporting on the game since the mid 1980s when he stopped playing with Clontarf. In 2007 his book From There to Here, a definitive account of Ireland’s transition from amateur to professional rugby, was published to critical acclaim.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Welsh holding out for highest bidder

  1. johnredmond1 says:

    Welcme back!

    Sent from my Samsung Mobile on O2

  2. Hey just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both
    show the same results.

  3. Do you have a spam issue on his blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to
    know your situation; we have created some nice practices and we are looking to exchange techniques with others, please shoot me an email if
    interested.

  4. After I initially commented I appear to have clicked
    on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a
    comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?

    Many thanks!

  5. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be at
    the internet the simplest thing to be mindful of. I say to
    you, I definitely get annoyed whilst people think about worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as
    outlined out the whole thing without having side-effects , other people can take a signal.

    Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  6. This is my first time visit at here and i am genuinely impressed to read everthing at single place.

  7. donate cars says:

    An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    There’s no doubt that that you need to write more about this issue, it may not
    be a taboo matter but generally folks don’t discuss such subjects.
    To the next! Many thanks!!

  8. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and may come back later
    in life. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

  9. Hello there, I discovered your site by means of Google even as looking
    for a related subject, your website got here up, it
    appears to be like great. I have bookmarked it in my google
    bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply was aware of your blog via Google, and located
    that it is truly informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels.
    I will appreciate in the event you proceed this in future.
    Lots of folks will likely be benefited out of your
    writing. Cheers!

  10. This page definitely has all of the information I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  11. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way
    of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful
    lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  12. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It really
    useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping
    to offer something back and help others like you
    helped me.

  13. I almost never comment, however after looking at a lot of comments here Welsh holding out for highest bidder | Brendan Fanning on Rugby.
    I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it
    be simply me or does it look like a few of these comments look like they are written
    by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting on additional online sites,
    I’d like to follow you. Could you list of all of all your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  14. What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this article i thought i could also create comment due to
    this sensible article.

  15. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog
    (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  16. I know this web site provides quality based posts and
    extra information, is there any other web site which
    provides such information in quality?

  17. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

  18. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and the rest of the site
    is really good.

  19. Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone
    3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the superb work!

  20. Normally I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that
    this write-up very forced me to check out and do it!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post.

  21. Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Thank you for providing these details.

  22. Hello! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours
    require a lot of work? I am brand new to writing a
    blog however I do write in my journal on a daily basis. I’d
    like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal
    experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  23. Useful info. Lucky me I discovered your site accidentally, and
    I’m stunned why this twist of fate did not happened earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

